Program Commitee

Program Commitee

  • Dr. Andrey Petrov, IASSA President, USA [Co-Chair]
  • Dr. Elena Koudryashova, Rector, Northern Arctic Federal University, Russia [Co-Chair]
  • Dr. Alexander Pelyasov, Professor of Geography, Moscow State University, Russia [Co-Chair]
  • Dr. Alexander Saburov, Arctic Research Center, Northern Arctic Federal University Russia (Early Career representative)
  • Dr. Diane Hirshberg, Professor of Education Policy, University of Alaska Anchorage, USA
  • Mr. Vyacheslav Shadrin, Vice-President, Russian Association of the Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON)-Sakha (Yakutia), Russia
  • Dr. Konstantin Zaikov, Vice-Rector and Professor of History, Northern Arctic Federal University, Russia
  • Dr. Tatiana Degai, Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Northern Iowa, USA and member of the Council of Itelmens “Tskhanom,” Russia
  • Dr. Tatiana Vlasova, Lead Researcher, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • Dr. Gary Wilson, Professor of Political Science, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada
  • Dr. Marina Kalinina, Vice-President, University of the Arctic, Russia
  • Dr. Michal Luszczuk, Senior Researcher, Maria Curie-Skłodowska University, Poland
  • Secretary / coordinator (ex officio)

Theme leaders

1.   Archaeology Org. committee UNI
2.   Art & Design

Timo Jokela

University of Lapland, Finland
3.   Cultures

Peter Schweitzer

University of Vienna, Austria

4.   Environment & Climate Change

Grete Hovelsrud

Nord University, Norway

5.   Governance

Gary Wilson

University of Northern British Columbia, Canada

6.   Health & Well-Being

Arja Rautio

University of Oulu, Finland

7.   History

Peter Skold (TBC)

Umea University, Sweden

8.   Indigenous societies

Vyacheslav Shadrin

Institute for humanitarian studies and Indigenous peoples issues, Yakutsk

9.   Law & Legal Regimes in the Arctic

Natalia Loukacheva

University of Northern British Columbia, Canada

10.   Knowledge Systems & Education

Diane Hirshberg

University of Alaska, Anchorage, USA

11.   Languages

Lenore Greoble

University of Chicago, USA

12.   Literature

Org. Committee


13.   Migrations & Mobilities

Nafisa Yeasmin

University of Lapland, Finland

14.   Sustainability

Tatiana Vlasova

Russian Academy of Science, Russia

15.   Museums & Heritage

Medea Csoba DeHass


16.   Arctic People & Places across Generations [OTHER]

Andrey Petrov


17.   Religion & Spirituality

Piers Vitebsky

Scott Polar Centre, United Kingdom

18.   Research Methodologies

Dmitry Funk

Institute of Ethnology RAS 

19.   Resource & Extractive Industries

Florian Stammler

University of Lapland, Finland

20.   Settlements in the Arctic

Tim Heleniak


21.   Tourism

Doris Carson

Umeå University Sweden

22.   Social work in the Arctic

NARFU / Elena Golosova NARFU / UNI

23.   Arctic Youth and Generational Relations

Jón Haukur Ingimundarson

Stefansson Arctic Institute

24.   Arctic Infrastructure

Vera Kuklina

Sochava Institute, RAS/GWU

25.   International Relations and Science Diplomacy in the Arctic

Paul Berkman

Tufts U

26.   IK and Knowledge co-production

Tatiana Degai / Alona Yefimenko


27.   Economy, labor, and development in the Arctic

Aleksandr Pelyasov / Nadezhda Zamyatina


28.   Gender in the Arctic

Otto Habeck


29.   Arctic Futures, Scenarios, Prospects

Marya Rozanova


30.   Technology and Innovation in the Arctic

Varvara Korkina